Our History


Mission Statement

Pekin Public Library serves as the community’s information center and gathering place. People have the opportunity to connect, discover, conduct the business of life, and leave enriched and satisfied.


Strategic Planning

Started in 1866 by the Ladies Library Association; transfered to city ownership and recreated as Pekin Public Library in 1896.
Built in 1902 as a Carnegie library building; rebuilt in 1972 as Dirksen Congressional Center/ Pekin Public Library joint facility; recreated in 2014 with a six million dollar renovation and expansion project
What's next? See our
Strategic Plan 2014-2019


Policy Notebook

Board approved policies linked as PDF.

Your Library Board of Trustees

Board Members

President –  Jason Juchems
Vice-President – Carrie Allen
Secretary  – Leslie Leitner
Treasurer –  Randy Turner
Tim Williams
Elise Albers
Sue Crowell
Bill Craig
Mary Jane Sours


Building & Grounds: Chairperson: Williams, Turner, Crowell, Leitner
Community Relations: Chairperson: Allen, Albers, Sours
Finance: Chairperson: Turner, Craig, Leitner
Library Services: Chairperson: Sours, Albers, Allen
Personnel: Chairperson: Leitner, Craig, Crowell, Williams

Board Meeting Dates 2018

January 23
February 27
March 27
April 24
May 22
June 26
July 24

Latest Agenda   January
Financial Audit  2016
Approved Board Minutes
October 2017
September 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
November 2016 (no December meeting)